AALTO – Aalto University

AALTO (Aalto University) was established in 2010, from the merger of three Finnish universities, and the new university’s ambitious goal is to be one of the leading institutions in the world in terms of research and education in its own specialized disciplines. The research team lead by Prof. Sergei Tretyakov belongs to the National Centre of Excellence in Research SMARAD, Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering, School of Electrical Engineering. The department carries out research and provides undergraduate and postgraduate education in microwave and millimetre wave measurements, antennas, radio wave propagation, advanced artificial meta-materials, electromagnetics, circuit theory and design, space technology, nanophotonics and nanofabrication. The research team has unique expertise on electromagnetic theory (especially the theory of composite electromagnetic materials, including metamaterials and metasurfaces), analytical modelling and design, electromagnetic computations, microwave and terahertz-frequency measurements, and meta-materials and meta-surfaces.

Key persons:

  • Sergei Tretyakov (email: sergei . tretyakov [at] aalto . fi)
  • Ana Díaz-Rubio

Department Website: https://www.aalto.fi/en/department-of-electronics-and-nanoengineering

Research Group Website: http://meta.aalto.fi/